Loading...

Server Management

The only difference between Mail Archiver Pro and Pro Admin is a single menu item Server Management in the Database menu. If you click on the menu item you will see this screen:

With the Start/Stop buttons you can locally start and stop the server. You can see if the server is running or not. It's only possible to install a license when the server is not running.

After the first installation of the server it doesn't have a license. Click on Stop to stop the server. Now click on the Install License button.

The license can be copied manually into the license folder. The folder is at Library/VServer_x64/Licences:

Then restart the Server by clicking on the Start button.

Most of the Server Management can be done for a remote computer. The directories can be changed for the local computer only.

There is already a default bookmark with the data below.

Click the plus button below the Bookmarks area to add another bookmark.

Add a name for the bookmark. Then enter the IP address for the server, port, user name and password. If you are logging in the first time use "sa" as user name and password. Click on the Add button to save the bookmark. The Server Management window now has a saved bookmark:


If you want to edit the bookmark click on the pencil icon. To delete the bookmark click on the minus icon. Now click on the Connect button and you will see the main part of the Server Management. There are sections for the Status, the Databases, the Connections and Users + Groups.

In all sections there is a reload icon with a round arrow. The icon reloads data from the server.

Status

The Status area has several groups which can be opened and closed.

After changing server properties the server may need to be restarted. You will see a message at the bottom of the window. Click on the restart icon at the bottom right side to restart the server.

Info

The info group shows the version number, number of connections and databases.

Performance

  • Number of threads. In general this property doesn't need to be changed.
  • Cache Size: per user the cache size should be at least 10MB.

Crash Reports

If the server crashes automated crash reports can be sent to Valentina. Enable the sending of crash reports here and enter your name and your email address.


Ports

Change the ports for Valentina and SQLite.

Logging

Valentina Server can log information to the console, files or SysLog. You can select different verbose levels from "Only Error Messages" to "Additional Trace Messages". The latter logs every query. The higher verbose levels shouldn't be used in production.


Directories

The base directory shows you where Valentina Server is installed on the current computer

Change the directories of the Valentina databases, SQLite databases, licenses, backup and log files by clicking on the folder icon behind the directory.

Timeout

Change the timeout in minutes for the client, the connection and the transfer. A timeout of 0 means no timeout.

  • Client Timeout: after 20 minutes of not doing anything in the application the server will disconnect the user.
  • Connection Timeout: after trying for 20 seconds to connect to the server when logging in the application will give up.
  • Transfer Timeout: after trying for 20 seconds to get data from the server the application will give up. This is for every time the application contacts the server.

Databases

In the Databases area you see the available databases.


The database master.vdb handles information about the other databases. You can't delete or change this database manually. The database usergroups.vdb contains information about users and usergroups for Mail Archiver databases. And the last database shown here is - of course - a Mail Archiver database.

You can see the path to the database. The connections column shows the open connections. If a database is not registered then it's not visible to the users. You can only change the registration for Mail Archiver databases.

Click on the plus icon to create a new Mail Archiver database:


It will be automatically registered. The minus icon deletes registered Mail Archiver databases.

Connections


Shows the open connections. The minus button removes the connection.

Users + Groups

The left side shows the users and the right side shows the groups.

Users

The list shows the available users. The Admin column shows if the user is an admin or not. Only admins can access the Server Management.


Click the plus icon to add a new user:


You only need to enter a user name and a password. The password needs to be at least 8 characters. And you can give the user admin rights. Click Add to add the user.

Click on the minus icon to delete the user. The emails of the deleted user will be invisible but not deleted. The pencil icon allows you to change the password. It's not possible to change a username.

Groups

Without groups the users in Mail Archiver Pro will see only his/her own emails. If a user is part of a group then he/she can see the emails of the the whole group.

Click the plus icon to add a new group:


Now you need to drag users from the left side of the window to the group:


Click the minus sign to delete a user or a group depending on what you have selected. Click the pencil icon to edit the group name.